Mantor SA

A new regulatory environment

On June 15, 2018, the Swiss Parliament adopted two laws to which all financial intermediaries have been subject since January 1, 2020: the Federal Act on Financial Institutions (FinIA) and the Federal Act on Financial Services (FinSA). They entail a major reorganisation in Swiss financial market law.

These laws pursue the objective of putting the various providers on an equal footing, with a level playing field. They are also aimed at enhanced protection for investors. These two texts determine the obligations incumbent on asset managers, both from the point of view of their organisation and of the service offered to the client.

All asset managers are henceforth subject to permanent control by a Supervisory Body (OS) and must have a license to practice issued by the Financial Market Supervisory Authority (FINMA).

In this context, it was necessary to redraw the contours of a business model that was to evolve. The issue of critical size, often at the center of debates since the year 2000 and which has remained without real materialisation on the structure of the market, has returned to the heart of the concerns.

The arrival of this new regulatory framework has prompted certain players in the sector to anticipate and find innovative solutions to deal with it.


A solution: MANTOR SA (foundation: July 2013)

It is in this state of mind that MANTOR SA was developed in particular by the partners of ProTrading Sàrl who are among the founding shareholders. A management and services company for asset managers and their clients, its model is based on the centralisation of administrative and compliance services (compliance with regulatory compliance, risk control) and on the decentralisation of asset management services by affiliated entities.

ProTrading Sàrl therefore signed an agreement with MANTOR SA and became one of its independent financial auxiliaries (AFI), according to the ordinance on money laundering (OBA). The clients, for their part, signed a management mandate contract with MANTOR SA. The historical contacts for customers remain the contact persons.

ProTrading Sàrl is therefore integrated into the organisational and control measures of MANTOR SA, but delivers its asset management service in a decentralised manner, while retaining its independence in terms of management practices, remuneration structure, premises and staff.

With MANTOR SA becoming the authorised entity responsible for regulatory and legal obligations, ProTrading Sàrl is considered a financial auxiliary and is therefore no longer directly subject to prudential supervision. In mid-2020, nearly 20 independent managers with assets under management of around a billion francs in total, have chosen to join MANTOR SA.

MANTOR SA is based in Geneva and also in Lugano. An independent company (MANTOR UK Ltd) is also present in London and regulated by the British Supervisory Authority (FCA) since 2016. In Zurich, Asset Managers & Trust Organisation AG completes the system.

*****

Links:
Mantor SA
FINMA website
FinSA
FinIA

Mantor SA

Un nouvel environnement réglementaire

Le 15 juin 2018, le Parlement suisse a adopté deux lois auxquelles sont soumis tous les intermédiaires financiers depuis le 1er janvier 2020 : la Loi sur les établissements financiers (LEFin) et la Loi sur les services financiers (LSFin). Elles entraînent une réorganisation importante dans le droit suisse des marchés financiers.

Ces lois poursuivent l’objectif de mettre les différents prestataires sur un pied d’égalité, avec des règles du jeu équitables. Elles visent également une protection renforcée pour les investisseurs. Ces deux textes déterminent les obligations incombant aux gestionnaires de fortune, tant du point de vue de leur organisation que de la prestation de service proposée au client.

Tous les gérants de fortune sont ainsi désormais astreints à un contrôle permanent par un Organisme de surveillance (OS) et doivent être au bénéfice d’une autorisation d’exercer délivrée par l’Autorité de surveillance des marchés financiers (FINMA).

Dans ce contexte, il convenait de redessiner les contours d’un modèle d’affaire amené à évoluer. La question de la taille critique, souvent au centre des débats depuis l’an 2000 et restée sans concrétisation réelle sur la structure du marché, est revenue au cœur des préoccupations.

L’arrivée de ce nouveau cadre réglementaire a poussé certains acteurs de la branche à anticiper et à trouver des solutions innovantes pour y faire face.


Une solution : MANTOR SA (fondation : juillet 2013)

C’est dans cet état d’esprit que MANTOR SA a été développée notamment par les associés de ProTrading Sàrl qui figurent parmi les actionnaires fondateurs. Société de gestion et de services pour les gestionnaires de fortune et leurs clients, son modèle repose sur la centralisation des services administratifs et de compliance (respect de la conformité réglementaire, contrôle des risques) et sur la décentralisation des services de gestion de fortune par les entités affiliées.

ProTrading Sàrl a donc signé avec MANTOR SA une convention et en est devenu l’un des auxiliaires financiers indépendants (AFI), selon l’ordonnance sur le blanchiment d’argent (OBA). Les clients ont, quant à eux, signé un contrat de mandat de gestion avec MANTOR SA. Les interlocuteurs historiques des clients restent les personnes de contact.

ProTrading Sàrl est donc intégrée dans les mesures organisationnelles et de contrôle de MANTOR SA, mais délivre sa prestation de gestion de fortune de manière décentralisée, tout en conservant son indépendance en termes de pratiques de gestion, de structure de rémunération, de locaux et de personnel.

MANTOR SA devenant l’entité autorisée et responsable des obligations réglementaires et légales, ProTrading Sàrl est considérée comme un auxiliaire financier et n’est donc plus assujettie directement à une surveillance prudentielle. Mi-2020, près de 20 gérants indépendants pour des actifs sous gestion d’environ un milliard de francs au total, ont fait le choix de rejoindre MANTOR SA.

MANTOR SA est basée à Genève et également à Lugano. Une société indépendante (MANTOR UK Ltd) est aussi présente à Londres et réglementée par l’Autorité de surveillance britannique (FCA) depuis 2016. A Zurich, c’est Asset Managers & Trust Organisation AG qui complète le dispositif.

*****

Liens :
Mantor SA
Site de la FINMA
LSFin
LEFin