Mantor SA

A new regulatory environment

On June 15, 2018, the Swiss Parliament adopted two laws to which all financial intermediaries have been subject since January 1, 2020: the Federal Act on Financial Institutions (FinIA) and the Federal Act on Financial Services (FinSA). They entail a major reorganisation in Swiss financial market law.

These laws pursue the objective of putting the various providers on an equal footing, with a level playing field. They are also aimed at enhanced protection for investors. These two texts determine the obligations incumbent on asset managers, both from the point of view of their organisation and of the service offered to the client.

All asset managers are henceforth subject to permanent control by a Supervisory Body (OS) and must have a license to practice issued by the Financial Market Supervisory Authority (FINMA).

In this context, it was necessary to redraw the contours of a business model that was to evolve. The issue of critical size, often at the center of debates since the year 2000 and which has remained without real materialisation on the structure of the market, has returned to the heart of the concerns.

The arrival of this new regulatory framework has prompted certain players in the sector to anticipate and find innovative solutions to deal with it.


A solution: MANTOR SA (foundation: July 2013)

It is in this state of mind that MANTOR SA was developed in particular by the partners of ProTrading Sàrl who are among the founding shareholders. A management and services company for asset managers and their clients, its model is based on the centralisation of administrative and compliance services (compliance with regulatory compliance, risk control) and on the decentralisation of asset management services by affiliated entities.

ProTrading Sàrl therefore signed an agreement with MANTOR SA and became one of its independent financial auxiliaries (AFI), according to the ordinance on money laundering (OBA). The clients, for their part, signed a management mandate contract with MANTOR SA. The historical contacts for customers remain the contact persons.

ProTrading Sàrl is therefore integrated into the organisational and control measures of MANTOR SA, but delivers its asset management service in a decentralised manner, while retaining its independence in terms of management practices, remuneration structure, premises and staff.

With MANTOR SA becoming the authorised entity responsible for regulatory and legal obligations, ProTrading Sàrl is considered a financial auxiliary and is therefore no longer directly subject to prudential supervision. In mid-2020, nearly 20 independent managers with assets under management of around a billion francs in total, have chosen to join MANTOR SA.

MANTOR SA is based in Geneva and also in Lugano. An independent company (MANTOR UK Ltd) is also present in London and regulated by the British Supervisory Authority (FCA) since 2016. In Zurich, Asset Managers & Trust Organisation AG completes the system.

*****

Links:
Mantor SA
FINMA website
FinSA
FinIA

Mantor SA

Ein neues regulatorisches Umfeld

Am 15. Juni 2018 hat das Schweizer Parlament zwei Gesetze verabschiedet, denen sämtliche Finanzintermediäre seit dem 1. Januar 2020 unterliegen: das Finanzinstitutsgesetz (FINIG) und das Finanzdienstleistungsgesetz (FIDLEG). Sie bewirken eine umfassende Umstrukturierung des schweizerischen Finanzmarktrechts.

Diese Gesetze zielen darauf ab, die verschiedenen Anbieter mit gleichen Wettbewerbsbedingungen gleichzustellen und auch Anlegern grösseren Schutz zu gewährleisten. Die beiden Gesetzestexte legen die dem Vermögensverwalter obliegenden Verpflichtungen fest, sowohl im Hinblick auf ihre Organisation als auch auf die dem Kunden angebotenen Dienstleistungen.

Alle Vermögensverwalter unterliegen daher nun einer ständigen Kontrolle durch Aufsichtsorganisationen (AO) und müssen über eine von der Finanzmarktaufsichtsbehörde (FINMA) erteilte Genehmigung zur Ausübung verfügen.

In diesem Zusammenhang war es notwendig, die Konturen eines Geschäftsmodells, das sich weiterentwickeln sollte, neu zu definieren. Die Frage nach der kritischen Grösse, die seit dem Jahr 2000 immer wieder in den Mittelpunkt der Diskussionen rückt und ohne konkrete Auswirkungen auf die Marktstruktur blieb, ist wieder zu einem zentralen Thema geworden.

Die Einführung dieses neuen Rechtsrahmens hat einige Akteure der Branche dazu veranlasst, vorauszudenken und innovative Lösungen zu finden, um mit der neuen Situation umzugehen.


Eine Lösung: MANTOR SA (Gründung: Juli 2013)

Vor diesem Hintergrund wurde MANTOR SA, insbesondere von den Gesellschaftern der ProTrading Sàrl, die zu den Gründungsaktionären zählen, entwickelt. Das Verwaltungs- und Dienstleistungsunternehmen für Vermögensverwalter und deren Kunden beruht auf der Zentralisierung von Verwaltungs- und Compliance-Diensten (unter Einhaltung gesetzlicher Vorschriften, Risikokontrolle) sowie auf der Dezentralisierung von Vermögensverwaltungsdiensten durch angegliederte Unternehmen.

ProTrading Sàrl unterzeichnete daraufhin mit MANTOR SA eine Vereinbarung und wurde gemäss der Geldwäschereiverordnung (GwV) zu einem ihrer unabhängigen Finanzvermittler (IFA). Die Kunden unterzeichneten ihrerseits einen Vermögensverwaltungsvertrag mit MANTOR SA. Die früheren Ansprechpartner der Kunden bleiben weiterhin ihre Kontaktperson.

ProTrading Sàrl ist daher in die Organisations- und Kontrollmassnahmen von MANTOR SA integriert, erbringt ihren Vermögensverwaltungsservice jedoch dezentral und behält gleichzeitig ihre Unabhängigkeit in Bezug auf Managementpraktiken, Vergütungsstruktur, Räumlichkeiten und Personal.

MANTOR SA fungiert als autorisiertes Unternehmen, das für gesetzliche und rechtliche Verpflichtungen verantwortlich ist, während ProTrading Sàrl als eine unabhängige Hilfsperson von MANTOR SA erachtet wird und daher nicht mehr direkt einer prudentiellen Aufsicht unterliegt. Mitte 2020 entschieden sich 20 unabhängige Vermögensverwalter mit einem verwalteten Vermögen von insgesamt rund einer Milliarde Franken für MANTOR SA.

MANTOR SA hat ihren Sitz in Genf und in Lugano. Ein unabhängiges Unternehmen (MANTOR UK Ltd) ist darüber hinaus in London präsent und wird seit 2016 durch die britische Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) reguliert. Die Asset Managers & Trust Organisation AG in Zürich vervollständigt das Gefüge.

*****

Links:
Mantor SA
Website der FINMA
FIDLEG
FINIG